It is our great pleasure to announce this year’s Margreet Wijnstroom Grant will provide support for 13 delegates from least developed countries to attend IFLA WLIC 2023 virtually.

Who was Margreet Wijnstroom?

Margreet Wijnstroom (1922-2018) was the first female IFLA Secretary General and also the first full-time Secretary General. She oversaw the move of IFLA Headquarters from the United Kingdom to the Netherlands in 1971 and over the course of the following 16 years she helped IFLA more than quadruple in size and strength.

Margreet’s real passion was to expand IFLA’s global engagement and to this end she gave particular attention to redefining librarianship in the developing world.


What does the grant cover?

The grant will cover the virtual registration fee for each of the successful candidates.

The grant will cover the virtual registration fee which will be done through an online booking system, using a special code.



  • The grant is available to librarians and library workers from all library types.
  • The applicant must be from one of the least developed countries (according to the UN LDC list).
  • The applicant must be a member of his/her national library association (where applicable).
  • Priority will be given to the applicants who are first-time attendee to the IFLA World Library and Information Congress.


How to apply?

The application should include a single file merging the following documents:

  1. Motivation letter, outlining the professional benefit for them to attend WLIC (max 200 words);
  2. One-page Curriculum Vitae containing academic qualifications, work history and involvement in professional activities or library innovation projects;
  3. Please submit proof of your association membership.

Please complete the form and attach a single PDF file merging the following documents:


Important dates

The deadline for applications is 17 July 2023.

Successful applicants will be notified that they have received a virtual registration to the Congress by 1 August 2023.