Alan Hopkinson IFLA Conference Award 2023

The Chartered Institute of Library and Information Professionals (CILIP) and its International Library and Information Group (ILIG) invite applicants for the Alan Hopkinson Award 2023 to attend the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) conference to be held in Rotterdam, August 21st – 25th 2023.

This Award enables a CILIP member in their early career (full criteria below) to experience the IFLA Congress.  The Award covers the whole cost of the IFLA conference fee and £100 towards travel and accommodation.

Alan Hopkinson was an active member of CILIP ILIG from 2004 until his death in 2016, following which he kindly bequeathed a Trust Fund to support an early career CILIP member to attend the IFLA Congress, get a flavour of different cultures, and, most importantly, begin to network with other librarians.



Applicants must:

1. Be in the early stages of their library career, preference will be given to those with 5 years or under library sector experience.  You could be a para-professional, library assistant, library manager, someone seeking CILIP Certification or CILIP Chartership, unemployed, etc.

2. Demonstrate a passion for international librarianship

3. Of any adult age.

4. Be a current CILIP member.

5. Be available to experience the full Congress from 21st – 25th August 2023 with the support of your employer, if required.


How to apply

Email Anna Jablkowska, ILIG Secretary – – with both:

1. A short proposal of up to 300 words (1 side of A4) showing how the Congress may benefit them, personally and professionally, both during and post-event.

2.  Attach your Curriculum Vitae (CV) – 1 side of A4 preferred – including the name of a library-based referee, preferably someone in a senior position, from a current or previous employer.



Applications must be received by 19 March 2023.  The winner of the Award is required to write a short article for ILIG’s Journal, Focus, within 6 months of the Congress.

A judging panel will consider applications and you will receive a decision by 25 March 2023, but, regretfully due to time constraints, we cannot give individual feedback if unsuccessful.

Anthony Thompson (UK) Award * under review

This Award belongs to CILIP but is managed on their behalf by ILIG. It was first awarded in 1983 and has been made, usually every three years, since. It has enabled qualified library and information professionals from outside the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (UK) to visit and study some aspects of UK library and information work for two to three weeks.

Anthony Thompson was the first full-time Secretary-General of the International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) from 1962 to 1970.  Following his death, in 1979, a trust fund was set up for the study of international and comparative librarianship, which provisions this Award.

Previous Award winners include Avis Holder, the Project Manager (Digitization) in the Library Archiving Unit for the Office of the Parliament for Trinidad and Tobago in July 2016. She met with librarians from throughout the UK, as well as attended the 2016 CILIP Conference in Brighton.

An article in a previous issue of Focus reviews some of the past winners and the work that has been done through this award.

However, due to COVID and other factors, this Award is currently under review and is not currently running for the foreseeable future.